Skip to main content

Semtech’s Corporate Blog

2023 LoRa Alliance® Award Winners: Recognizing Semtech's Leaders in Innovation


Robert Comanescu

Robert Comanescu

We are thrilled to announce that a number of Semtech team members have been honored at the prestigious 2023 LoRa Alliance® Contribution Awards. Their outstanding contributions have been instrumental in advancing the LoRaWAN® standard, and we take great pride in recognizing their accomplishments. Their groundbreaking work has truly made a significant impact on the industry, and we are delighted to share in their well-deserved recognition with you.

The LoRa Alliance, the global association of companies backing the open LoRaWAN standard for internet of things (IoT) low-power wide-area networks (LPWANs), today announced the winners of its annual Contribution Awards during a live ceremony at the LoRaWAN Live in Munich conference. The awards recognize individuals and companies for their leadership, service and contributions to the LoRa Alliance for the development and promotion of the LoRaWAN standard over the past year. The Contribution Awards is an annual recognition honoring members’ outstanding leadership, service and contributions to the LoRa Alliance. Here is the complete list of winners. 

“These awards celebrate the relentless efforts and achievements of our distinguished members who drive the continuous innovation and growth of the LoRaWAN standard,” said Donna Moore, CEO and Chairwoman of the LoRa Alliance. “Over the past year, leaders within the Alliance came together for meaningful collaborations, spearheading industry innovation and advancing the LoRaWAN standard. Their dedication and hard work have catapulted LoRaWAN to new heights within the LPWAN and IoT markets.”


Image of 2023 LoRa Alliance Contribution Award Winners


Lifetime Achievement Award 

Olivier Seller, Technical Fellow, Wireless IP:

One of the inventors of LoRa® technology, his efforts were key to LoRaWAN’s recognition as a standard by ITU-T and the creation of numerous technical recommendations for LoRaWAN implementation. 


Leadership Award 

Geoffroy de Guillebon:

Honored for his leadership of the CSMA Task Force and his role in the publication of Technical Recommendation 013, enabling CSMA for LoRaWAN. 


Ecosystem Accelerator Award 

Olivier Beaujard, Senior Director LoRa Ecosystem:

Recognized for his efforts in continuously expanding the LoRaWAN ecosystem. 


Team Award 

CSMA Task Force Team:

Led by Geoffroy de Guillebon, this team successfully delivered the CSMA Task Force specifications, enhancing LoRaWAN’s resistance to collision and completing the Task Force’s work.


From Our Lifetime Achievement Award Winner-

Olivier Seller


"Receiving this prestigious award is a great honor, and I am grateful to the LoRa Alliance members for their collective work and technical stimulation. As one of the inventors of LoRa®, which started 15 years ago with Cycleo, and then with Semtech, I am amazed to see how the Alliance’s members have created a technology and an ecosystem that allow users to truly benefit from the value of IoT. Our innovation ecosystem is an incredible achievement, but more importantly, it is a strength for the future and the best way to grow applications further. Today, LoRaWAN is widely used to save water, energy and resources, as well as to protect our environment. These make me proud and thrilled to continue the journey." 
Olivier Seller, Technical Fellow, Wireless IP, Semtech 


We are grateful for their dedication and hard work which contribute to the growth and development of the entire LoRaWAN community. Please join us in congratulating Olivier, Geoffroy, and the CSMA Task Force Team for their exceptional achievements. 


Thank you for your continued support and collaboration. 


Read more about our latest LoRa developments



Related Blogs:

Recent Posts

Posts by Author

See all